TV3’s Odelia Ofori wins Best TV News Reporting Award

on .

Odelia OforiTV3’s Odelia Ofori was among 26 journalists honoured on Saturday at the 18th Ghana Journalists Association Awards held at the State Banquet Hall in Accra.

Odelia Ofori scooped the Best in TV News Reporting. Also scooping a similar award was last year’s Journalist of the Year, Manasseh Azure Awini.

A former employee of TV3, Efuah Acquaah-Harrison, was awarded the Best in Journalism in furthering the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

The night was, however, topped by Radio Ghana’s Kingsley Obeng Kyereh, whose story Where did half the ladle go? won him the Journalist of the Year Award.

Below is the full list of award winners:

Honorary Awards

  • Cyril Acorlatse
  • Ms Wendy Asiamah
  • Mr Tom Dorkenoo
  • Mrs Margaret Sarfo
  • Mr Theophilus Mawusi Afele

Competitive Awards

  • Journalist of the Year - Kingsley Obeng Kyereh - GBC Radio
  • Best in News Reporting (Print) - Charles Benoni Okine - Graphic Business
  • Best in News Reporting (Radio) - Kwaku Owusu Peprah - Joy FM
  • Best in News Reporting (TV) - Manasseh Azure Awini - Joy FM
  • Best in Feature (Print) - Edmund Kofi Yeboah - Daily Graphic
  • Best in News Reporting (TV) - Odelia Ofori - TV3
  • Best in Investigative Reporting - Kwetey Nartey - TV Africa
  • Best in Photojournalism - Emmanuel Quaye - Daily Graphic
  • Best in Sports - Dzifah Tetteh - The Ghanaian Times
  • Best in Arts/Entertainment & Domestic Tourism - Rebecca Awuah - GTV24
  • Best Entry in Small and Micro Scale Enterprises - Maxwell Akalaare - Graphic Business
  • Best in Environmental Report - William Asiedu - The Mirror
  • Best Report in Health - Rebecca Quaye - The Mirror
  • Best Report in HIV and AIDS - Jamila Akweley Okerchire - Daily Guide
  • Best in Development Journalism for furthering MDGs - Efua Acquaah-Harrison - TV3
  • Best in Rural Reporting - Gifty Andoh Appiah - Joy FM
  • Best in political Reporting - Konrad Kakraba - GTV
  • Human Rights (focus on Child Rights) Fanny Nana Ampong - GTV
  • Best Report on Disability - Rosemary Gaisie - GBC Radio
  • Best Report on Peace, Democracy and Peace Building - Radio XYZ
  • Best Report on Education - Seth Bokpe - Daily Graphic
  • Best Report in Agriculture - Isabella Owusu Oppong - GTV
  • Best radio/TV programme - Akan - Radio Peace (Winneba)
  • Best radio/TV programme - Ga - Obonu FM
  • Best Report on Science - Kingsley Obeng Kyere - GBC Radio
  • Young Promising Journalist of the Year - Hannah Acheampong Amoah - Junior Graphic
  • Young Promising Journalist of the Year (Runner-up) David Adadevoh - The Ghanaian Times